For my daughter

You don’t even exist yet but I know that when you come into the world I’m going to love you with all my heart and soul. I look forward to the sleepless nights and feeling exhausted within the first few years of your life but it won’t bother me while you’re cradled in my arms and i’m rocking you back to sleep. I look forward to feeding you and watching you make a mess and throwing your apple puree on the floor. I look forward to watching you take your first steps and uttering your first word and just to be clear.. I hope you say ‘Dada’ first lol

I will always be there to hold your hand while walking you into your classroom on the first day of school..and its ok if you don’t want to let go. I won’t either till you’re ready. As awkward as this sounds we will have a talk on the birds and the bees and being safe when your 13 years old and I’m definetly putting you in a self defence class after school so you can learn to physically kick ass should anything happen to you and I’m not around. Lets hope it will never come to that day.

I’d be lying if I said I’d be okay with you dating. I’ll try my best not to be too intimidating or interrogate your boyfriend.. but it might happen anyway. He has to have a job, a good sense of humor, be a family man, be social and believe in God. Please don’t bring home a guy who does drugs..I’m drawing the line at that. If he hits you, hit him back and come straight to me so I can hit him too when he shows up at the front door to apologize.

I’ll be honored to walk you down the aisle on your wedding day and I’m already 10steps ahead with the father daughter dance. Thank gosh I was taught how to waltz at a younger age.

During your lifetime, I might embarrass you in front of your partner and friends for laughs.. I’ll tell you off if you fucked up. I’ll hug you when you’re feeling down and I’ll pick you up if you fall. I hope I can be the best father and role model for you til the rest of my living days. I hope I can be a great example of kindness, generosity and many more.. Teach you different life skills.. I hope you will be proud of me for trying for you.

You don’t even exist yet but I’m proud of you.

Leave a Reply

